Peer assessment, self assessment & target setting resources.

Self Assessment – What’s the point?

I spent some time recently thinking about how I use a lot of peer assessment in my lessons, but never really use self assessment. I asked myself why and the conclusion I came to was that I didn’t know how to get KS2 children to be really self critical and reflective, plus I also didn’t see any point in self assessment.

I knew I was wrong and I needed to think again. So I developed some sentence starters to help children construct more effective self assessment. The starters have been put on a poster, which you can see below.

SAS Poster 1

Click here to download a copy for yourself

The poster is split into three key areas of self assessment. You can read more about these areas on our earlier ‘How to Self Assess’ blog.

The revelation I came to was that with correct scaffolding all children from KS1 upwards can self assess. All they need is clear guidance and training.

It’s the training that takes the time though. Children will, if allowed, say everything is wonderful about their work and nothing can be improved. With help they need to learn that some areas are great, but there is always ways to improve. Once they realised this then they will become more effective learners. I’ve seen the impact recently of children using effective self assessment on a regular basis. They now edit their work as they’re doing it and spot the pitfalls sometimes even before they appear.

The ‘Self Assessment Starters’ poster is a great place to begin with self assessment. Ask them to read their own work and think in their head using one of the sentence starters for each section. You can then move on to them responding in their books to pre-made self assessment sheets with the sentence starters on there. Have a look below for an example: (Click on the pictures to see them in more detail).

SA SentencesSA Sentences

Download the ‘Self Assessment Starters’ poster now and start to use the sentences as part of your everyday classroom assessment.

We will be launching loads of new self assessment resources to work alongside the ‘Self Assessment Starters’ poster. They will provide children with more help when they use INK, WWW & EBI when responding to their work. Keep an eye on our blog and our Twitter and Facebook pages for more self assessment resources.

Please comment on and share this blog.

Alex

One response

  1. Liz

    Hi Alex, I am a year 3 teacher and have also realised the importance of teaching self-assessment and realised that you do need to train the children first. I developed a questionnaire in week 4 to see if the children understood when they were self-assessing (in what areas) and it was interesting to see that they did not realise when they were self-assessing – they mainly identified handwriting and writing where they fill in a sheet. I reflected on this and decided I needed to help the children understand when they were self-assessing. My second questionnaire showed they could identify more areas and knew what self-assessment meant. I am currently beginning to extend the amount of time that children can self-assess using a variety of techniques, e.g., thumbs up and think-pair-share. I love your poster as this has given me some more ideas.
    Liz

    April 25, 2015 at 12:43 am

Leave a Reply

